margarine, kosher Made only from vegetable fats, since ordinary margarine can include animal fats that may not be kosher. It is fortified with carotene (which is derived from vegetable sources) as the source of vitamin A, instead of retinol (which may be obtained from non‐kosher sources).
More From encyclopedia.com
Source , source / sôrs/ • n. a place, person, or thing from which something comes or can be obtained: mackerel is a good source of fish oil. ∎ a spring or fou… Animalia , The kingdom Animalia, or Metazoa, includes all animals. Animals are multicellular, eukaryotic organisms, which are heterotrophic, meaning they obtain… Pseudocoelomate , pseudocoelomate Describing any invertebrate animal whose body cavity is a pseudocoel, a cavity between the gut and the outer body wall derived from a… Point Source , A point source is a concentration of something that appears to be very small. In mathematics, for instance, a point source (a singularity, or a point… Vivisection , Vivisection (pronounced vih-vih-SEK-shun) literally means the dissection or cutting of a living animal. The term has come to apply to any and all typ… Animal-rights Movement , Protection of animals from cruelty through requirements of humane treatment. Laws protecting animal rights proscribe certain forms of brutal and merc…
About this article
Updated About encyclopedia.com content Print Article
You Might Also Like