If you have been convicted of a first offense DUI misdemeanor in the state of California, your sentencing will include probation. During your time of probation, you will need to follow the judge’s instructions and make sure that you avoid breaking any other laws. If you do this, the term for your probation will likely terminate after five years.
Alcohol Counseling Course Related To Your DUI
Your DUI conviction will have a few universal features in the state of California. As a first offense, you will be ordered to enroll in a course related to alcohol counseling. In most cases, your enrollment in this course will last for a three-month period. However, you should understand that it could be as long as a year — many individuals are allowed to complete a shorter course if it is your first offense.
Paying A Base Fine
Committing a first offense DUI in California will also mean that you will have to pay a fine that ranges between $400 to as much as $1000. This is just for the “base fine.” In actuality, you will end up paying much more than this due to costs related to additional court fees, driver rehabilitation classes and alcohol rehabilitation classes. Also, there will be other costs related to miscellaneous assessments.
Driver’s License Suspension
At the beginning of your probation, you will lose your privilege to drive an automobile. If this is your first offense, a judge may grant you the ability to drive via a restricted license. If you can prove that you are not a serious threat to other individuals who are operating their automobiles, you may be granted this privilege. A restricted license would allow you to drive back and forth to your job during business hours, but it wouldn’t allow you to go off on trips or drive to areas that are not deemed as necessary.
There were also be additional restrictions during your term of probation. These will be related to any other felonies or misdemeanors. You must agree to abide by the law and stay free from committing any other types of crime. If you are pulled over for a suspected DUI, you will be required to agree to participate in a full array of blood and breath tests.
Reneging On Any Agreements
During your time of probation for your DUI offense, you are expected to follow all conditions and not renege on any agreements. If you do, you’ll be breaching the terms of your probation, which may lead to the revocation of your probation. You might also end up in prison for a term of six months. The penalties for violating your probation will depend on the circumstances that are related to your breach of probation.
Jim Treebold is a North Carolina based writer. He lives by the mantra of “Learn 1 new thing each day”! Jim loves to write, read, pedal around on his electric bike and dream of big things. Drop him a line if you like his writing, he loves hearing from his readers!